Healey’s Cyder Farm Cornish Scrumpy

Some friends paid a visit to Cornwall and brought back a souvenir for me.

Cornwall has recently been recognised as an official national minority. Like other British minorities, such as Scottish, Welsh and Ginger, they have their own language, their own flag, and they like cider. Cornwall’s warm, wet climate supports many cider orchards and during my friend’s stay, they visited Healey’s Cyder Farm. I was quite jealous, there’s even tractor rides!heaneys farm house

Happily, they did think of me when they were there, and returned with a mini flagon of Scrumpy Farm Cyder, medium sweet. It even came with it’s own mini glass tankard! At 250ml, I’m not going to get lashed, but it’ is a 7.4% cyder with a Y. Good stuff comes in small flagons. It’s a pale, clear straw colour, and flat.It has the smell of a Cornish summer hedgerow. Almost white wine-like, I think this one will be fruity and dry.

Drinking from the tiny cup, it has a hint of sherry, warm and sweet. It tastes powerful and a little spicy, though I’m not sure if the tankardette is the best for drinking from, there’s not much to taste after that. This cider should come in a big stoneware flagon, with a bit of horse shit stuck to the bottom. However, a drunk face, imprinted on the base of the glass, smiles back at me, as if he knows something I don’t. I grab a half pint glass, which strangely takes off a bit o the warmth, though still unremarkable. However, it’s not bad, a drinkable, sweet cyder. From the look on the faces of the two bumpkin characters on the bottle, it has the desired effect, of heavy inebriation, combined with hair and tooth loss, in a field.

For the photo shoot, I wish I’d found a selection of miniature apples and other fruit, and pretend it’s in scale, but you never know when the cider sense will it. My head is already starting to feel warmed by it, and I’ve only had a quarter pint. Time to check out Healey’s Cyder Farm.

The Cyder farm is at Penhallow, near Truro. It’s also the home of Rattler cider, ah, fond memories of a trip to Cornwall where they sell pheromones in the mens toilets. Healeys farm also makes a range of whisky, brandy and wine. This family owned cyder farm, began in 1986 and is now the biggest cider maker in Cornwall! Not a bad acheivment. Wind fallen apples and a 16th century cider press, this is cyder done the olde way. With a Y. And an e…Ye cyder.

The farm is free to visit, too! Mind, it might cost you 5op for the tractor ride. But it’s on my list to visit next time I’m down in Kernow.

Verdict 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

