Broome Farm at the Euston Cider Tap

It’s a Thursday and I have a day off.

Woop de do!

I’m planning to visit the London Drinker Festival near Euston today, so I’m heading up the fragrant streets of Bloomsbury to the Euston Road.

Euston Cider TapOutside the bus station, I happen upon The Euston Cider Tap. I’ve been meaning to visit this place for a long time. I decide to pop in for an hors-d’oeuvre. The Euston Cider Tap and it’s sister pub, The Euston Tap, are housed in twin lodges that were built as part of the original Euston Station. They were intended as booking offices for the two rail companies that ran from Euston Station, and each lodge is covered in stone, carved with the names of towns that could once be reached from Euston Station. Thanks to a grim redevelopment of the station in the 60s, though the lodges were preserved, they now serve a much more useful purpose–selling booze.

I always thought they were war memorials. I venture into the Cider Tap, like an AlcoTARDIS, it seems bigger on the inside. Above the massively bearded barman, hangs a sign, reminding me that cider is one of my five a day. The blackboard lists the 16 available ciders. Best just have one for now. Or two.

A couple of other drinkers are being served. It sounds like they’re looking for a Kopparberg style, asking about the sparkling ciders and steering clear of the stills. They quickly disappear over the road to the normal Tap, which seems much busier this afternoon, serving more familiar beers. The clientele of the Taps, seems to be travellers, office workers, stag dos and vagrants. And of course, myself.

Looking at the cider menu, I feel I want to have a Countdown numbers round choice–”one from the top and four from anywhere else please, Carol”. I select the Broome Farm medium cider. It’s sunny outside and, as it’s been a grey start to the year, I pop out to lean nonchalantly against a barrel and soak up some vitamin D. Besides, who could resist the idyllic setting of Euston Bus station, and the buzz of the passing traffic. Good job cider is full of anti-oxidants to counteract al this pollution. Ah, a ‘Mix It‘ cement-mixer trundles past. I was wondering how they’d deal with their namesake being a kiddy-fiddler.Broome Farm Cider

Broome Farm is a 6% cider from the Ross-on-WyeThe cider smells of fresh weeds and shrubbery. It’s got a dryness to it, but is nicely balanced, with a bit of a sting, like falling into a patch of damp nettles while on holiday at the caravan.

It’s very refreshing for a sunny afternoon, and even more refreshing, (in London), at £3.60 a pint. The Ross Cider website is poorly built and a little difficult to navigate. The ‘About Our Cider‘ page, merely shows a photo of some apples. While I feel they need to pay a bit more attention to the site, it’s reassuring to know they’re probably more interested in making and drinking the stuff, than adding links to a website.

I’m feeling a bit smug, drinking my cider, while thousands of workers hurry around me. I think I will have to have the second of my five-a-day.

Verdict: 4/5

One thought on “Broome Farm at the Euston Cider Tap

Leave a Reply

